Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

New Threads

Adding another very special piece to the memory quilt. Connecting with stories and a picnic basket.
2

I am returning home from Scotland today, currently sitting on a train from Edinburgh to York where I change for Peterborough and then on to Bury St Edmunds.

For the past few days I have been surrounded by the breathtaking beauty of the Scottish West Coast, the lochs and majestic rolling mountains, places of peace and serenity that weave themselves into every sense and literally make you weep, such is the overwhelming feeling of being such a small, insignificant speck in a universe of such magnitude.

The feelings of guilt for being part of a human race that includes some hell bent on ruining our world and upsetting the natural balance of these monumental landscapes were hard to ignore. I found myself at times falling inexorably silent, prompting my friend and host Carole to ask if I was feeling OK.

As it would have been extremely rude of me to squirrel myself away to write this week’s newsletter while in Carole’s wonderful company, the post today is a video, a small peak into Carole’s world and her life in this striking part of Scotland. Basically two Ageing Optimists sitting on the shore at Carsaig Bay, gently rambling on whilst soaking up the sun and musing over the heavenly view across the tranquil bay to Jura.

A more perfect day could not be had.

The photo below is my favourite of the whole trip, I love it so much I am going to frame it as a memento of a Scottish adventure that will stay with me forever. Not just because of the magical scenery but also the making of those unbreakable threads that weave a friendship together. In case you missed it, look for the Saltire in the sky.

CAROLE AT MOINE MHOR (The Great Moss)

As always, thank you for being here.

With love,

Lindsey x

Leave a comment

For more stuff, more engagement and to contribute towards my work, please think about pressing the button below to become a paid member of The Ageing Optimist community. Thank you.

Discussion about this podcast

The Ageing Optimist
The Ageing Optimist
A podcast to encourage an holistic approach to ageing well.
Exploring art and creativity, connecting with nature, wellness and self-care, lifestyle and having fun!
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Lindsey Dickson